Sinking Lessons

ISBN: 9781988592411

Author: Philip Armstrong    Publisher: Otago University Press

The poems in Sinking Lessons portray the vitality of a world full of things and beings we too often disregard, using language that vibrates in harmony with the lively tales it tells – from small, everyday events to stories of shipwrecks and strandings, resurrections and reanimations, arctic adventures and descents into the underworld. The cast of characters includes members of the poet’s family alongside heroes from myth and literature, such as Orpheus, Scheherazade and Frankenstein’s Creature. And crowding in upon these, at all times, a multitude of non-human protagonists: sun and stars, wind and water, mud and sand, body fluids, decaying matter, chemicals organic and inorganic, and a great many fishes and birds and beasts. Sinking Lessons is the first collection of poetry from Philip Armstrong, winner of the 2019 Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award.

Bind: paperback

Pages: 54

Dimensions: 150 x 230 mm

Publication Date: 07-08-2020

Availability Date: 20-08-2020

Tag: Poetry

© 2024 Nationwide Book Distributors